State Authorization

The United States Department of Education requires that institutions comply with various authorization requirements in each state in which distance education instruction is delivered to its residents. In addition, and pursuant to 34 CFR 668.43(b), institutions must provide current and prospective students with contact information for filing complaints with the appropriate state agency in their home state. Some states also require Brandman University to include specific language in the catalog and/or website.

To satisfy these requirements, contact and other information for each state’s Higher Education Department (or equivalent) are listed below by state.  Regarding complaints, we encourage all students to review and utilize our University Complaint Policy which can be found in the General Information section.

Further, Brandman University regularly monitors developments in each state’s laws and works with Higher Education authorities to maintain compliance.  However, due to the complex and ever changing landscape of State Authorization, our approach and status in each state is subject to change.  We will continue to monitor changes in each state’s laws and our out-of-state activities.  If authorization becomes necessary, we will take the appropriate next steps. 

If you have concerns or questions about State Authorization, distance education requirements, or the availability of certain programs in your state, please contact the office of the Director of State Authorization and Legal Affairs.

Alabama

Alabama Commission on Higher Education

Elizabeth C. French
Director, Office of Institutional Effectiveness and Planning
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
334-242-2179
elizabeth.french@ache.alabama.gov   

Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education Office of Private School Licensing Division

Annette Funderburk
Private School Licensure Specialist
Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education
Office of Private School Licensing Division
334-293-4651
annette.funderburk@accs.edu  

Alaska

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education

Kierke A. Kussart
Program Coordinator for Institutional Authorization
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
907-465-6741
Kierke.kussart@alaska.gov
EED.ACPE-IA@alaska.gov  

Arizona

Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education

Teri Stanfill
Executive Director
Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education
602-542-2399
teri.stanfill@azppse.gov  

Keith Blanchard
Deputy Director
Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education
602-542-5769
keith.blanchard@azppse.gov

Arkansas

Arkansas Department of Higher Education

Alana Boles
Coordinator, Academic Affairs
Arkansas Department of Higher Education
501-371-2060
Alana.Boles@adhe.edu  

Arkansas State Board of Private Career Education
Brenda Germann
Director
Arkansas State Board of Private Career Education
501-683-8000
brenda.germann@arkansas.gov

California

California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

Leeza Rifredi
Licensing Chief
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
916-431-6959
bppe.licensing@dca.ca.gov

Colorado

Colorado Department of Higher Education

Heather DeLange
Academic Policy Officer
Colorado Department of Higher Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1600
Denver, CO 80202
303-862-3001
heather.delange@dhe.state.co.us

Connecticut

The Connecticut Office of Higher Education

Noah Dion
Director, Academic Affairs
Office of Higher Education
860-947-1822
NDion@ctdhe.org   

Delaware

Delaware Department of Education

Teacher & Administrator Quality Development
Delaware Department of Education
302-857-3388
IHE@doe.k12.de.us

District of Columbia

DC Higher Education Licensure Commission

810 First Street NE, 2nd Floor
Washington, DC 20002
osse.elcmail@dc.gov

Florida

Commission for Independent Education Florida Department of Education

Sam Ferguson
Executive Director
Commission for Independent Education
Florida Department of Education
850-245-3200
sam.ferguson@fldoe.org  

Georgia

Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission

Carl G. Camann, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
770-414-3208
ccam@npec.state.ga.us

Hawaii

Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program

Bobbi Lum-Mew
Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program
808-586-7327
hpeap@dcca.hawaii.gov

Idaho

Idaho State Board of Education

Val Fenske    
Private Postsecondary & Proprietary School Coordinator
Idaho State Board of Education
650 West State Street, (PO Box 83720), Boise, ID 83720-0037
208-332-1587
valerie.fenske@osbe.idaho.gov

Illinois

Illinois Board of Higher Education

Dr. Dan Cullen
Deputy Director, Academic Affairs
Illinois Board of Higher Education
1 N.Old, State Capitol Plaza, Suite 333
Springfield, IL 62701
217-557-7382
Cullen@ibhe.org

Indiana

Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Public, and Private Non-Profit, Degree-Granting Institutions:
Ken Sauer, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Commissioner for Research and Academic Affairs,
Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)/Executive Director
Indiana Board for Proprietary Education (BPE)
101 W. Ohio Street, Suite 550 Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-1984
317-464-4400 Ext. 121
ksauer@che.in.gov

Ross Miller
Director of Accreditation and Regulatory Compliance
Indiana Board for Proprietary Education/
Indiana Commission for Higher Education
101 W. Ohio Street, Suite 670
Indianapolis, IN 46204-1984
Phone: (317) 464-4400 Ext. 138
Fax: (317) 233-4219
rmiller@che.in.gov

Iowa

Iowa College Student Aid Commission

Carolyn Small
Postsecondary Registration Coordinator
Iowa College Student Aid Commission
515-725-3413
carolyn.small@iowa.gov

Kansas

Kansas Board of Regents

Jacqueline Johnson
Director of Private Postsecondary and Out-of-State Education
Kansas Board of Regents
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 520
Topeka, KS 66612-1368
785-296-4917
jjohnson@ksbor.org

Kentucky

Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education

Steve Wilborn
Interim Executive Director
Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education
502.564.4185
kcpe@ky.gov

Louisiana

Louisiana Board of Regents

Academic Degree-Granting Institutions:
LeAnn Detillier,
Assistant Commissioner for Program Administration,
Louisiana Board of Regents
225-342-4253
leann.detillier@la.gov

Maine

Maine Department of Higher Education

Angel Martinez Loredo
Higher Education Specialist
Maine Department of Education
Augusta, Maine 04333
207-624-6846
angel.loredo@maine.gov

Maryland

Maryland Higher Education Commission

Monica Wheatley, Associate Director of Collegiate Affairs, Office of Academic Affairs
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
410-767-3301
monica.wheatley@maryland.gov

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

One Ashburton Place, Room 1401
Boston, MA 02108
approvalquery@bhe.mass.edu

Michigan

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Michael Beamish
Manager
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Corporations, Securities, and Commercial Licensing Bureau, Licensing Division
PO Box 30718- Lansing, MI 48909
517-241-6806
beamishm@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Brandman University is registered with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to sections 136A.61 to 136A.71. Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions

Minnesota Office of Higher Education

1450 Energy Park Dr., Suite 350
St. Paul, MN 55108
651-642-0533
www.ohe.state.mn.us

Betsy Talbot
Manager Institutional Licensure and Registration
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Dr., Suite 350
St.Paul, MN 55108
651-259-3965
Betsy.talbot@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation

Menia Dykes
Director of Accreditation
Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, MS 39211
601-432-6372
mdykes@mississippi.edu

Missouri

Missouri Department of Higher Education

Leroy Wade
Deputy Commissioner
Missouri Department of Higher Education
573-751-1176  
leroy.wade@dhe.mo.gov
 

Montana

Montana University System Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education

State Authorization Compliance Agent
Montana University System
Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
2500 Broadway, BOX 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201
406-444-6570
stateauthorization@montana.edu

Nebraska

Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education

Kathleen Fimple
Academic Programs Officer
Nebraska’s Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
402-471-0030
kathleen.fimple@nebraska.gov

Nebraska Department of Education, Private Postsecondary Career Schools

Brad Dirksen
Program Director
Nebraska Department of Education
402-471-4825
Brad.dirksen@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education

Kelly D. Wuest
Administrator
Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education
702-486-7330
kdwuest@cpe.state.nv.us

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Department of Education Division of Higher Education- Higher Education Commission

Patricia Edes
Assistant to Director
New Hampshire Department of Education
Division of Higher Education, Higher Education Commission
603-271-0257
patricia.edes@doe.nh.gov

New Jersey

New Jersey Secretary of Higher Education

Rochelle Hendricks
Secretary of Higher Education
State of New Jersey Higher Education
609-292-4310
Executive Assistant: Lauren Banks
lauren.banks@oshe.nj.gov
http://www.state.nj.us/highereducation

New Mexico

New Mexico Higher Education Department

Questions about policies and application processes:
Diane Vigil-Hayes
Private & Proprietary Schools Administrator and Compliance Officer
New Mexico Higher Education Department
2048 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87505
505-476-8418
Diane.Vigil@state.nm.us

Questions about agency’s authority:
David Mathews
Director of Private & Proprietary Schools and General Counsel
New Mexico Higher Education Department
2048 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87505
505-476-8402    
David.Mathews@state.nm.us

Brandman University is seeking Licensure for programs with clinical or internship components.

New York

New York Office of College and University Evaluation

Leslie Templeman
Director
Office of College and University Evaluation
New York State  Education Department
leslie.templeman@nysed.gov

North Carolina

The University of North Carolina Board of Governors

Terrence Scarborough
Director of Licensure
The University of North Carolina General Administration
919-962-4558
trscarborough@northcarolina.edu

North Dakota

North Dakota University System

Tanya Spilovoy
Director, Distance Education and State Authorization
North Dakota University System
1815 Schafer Street, Ste.202 Bismarck, ND 58505-0230
tanya.spilovoy@ndus.edu

Ohio

The Ohio Board of Regents  

Matt Exline
Assistant Director, Program Development and Approval
614-728-3095
mexline@regents.state.oh.us

Oklahoma

Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Daniel Archer
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
darcher@osrhe.edu

The Oklahoma Board of Private Schools

Nora Ann House, MBA, CPA Director
The Oklahoma Board of Private Schools
405-528-3370
nhouse@obpvs.ok.gov

Oregon

Oregon Office of Degree Authorization

Juan Baez-Arevalo
Director of Private Postsecondary Education
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission
503-947-5977
juan.baez.-arevalo@state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Education

Patricia Landis
Division Chief, Higher and Career Education
Pennsylvania Department of Education
717-783-8228
RA-COLLUNIVSEMINFO@state.pa.us

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner

Michael Walker-Jones
Assistant Commissioner
Rhode Island Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner
401-736-1122
michael.walker-jones@ribghe.org

South Carolina

South Carolina Commission on Higher Education

Clay Barton
Program Coordinator, Postsecondary Institution Licensing
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
1122 Lady Street
Suite 300
Columbia, SC 29201
803-737-7781
cbarton@che.sc.gov

South Dakota

South Dakota Secretary of State

Krista Rounds
Postsecondary Education
Office of Secretary of State-State Capitol
500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre SD 57501-5070
605-773-3537
sos.edu@state.sd.us  

Tennessee

Tennessee Higher Education Commission Division of Postsecondary State Authorization

Information regarding THEC’s authority and policies:
Julie M. Woodruff
Assistant Executive Director for DPSA and Lead Attorney
Tennessee Higher Education Commission
615-253-8857
julie.woodruff@tn.gov

Texas

The student complaint form is available on the THECB website. All complaints must be submitted to the Agency on the student complaint form.
http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/index.cfm?objectid=051F93F5-03D4-9CCE-40FA9F46F2CD3C9D

For specific information regarding student complaints pursuant to Title 19 of the Texas Administrative Code, Sections 1.110-1.120 please see the following site:
http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=19&pt=1&ch=1&sch=E&rl=Y   

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Cathie Maeyaert
Special Projects Director
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
512-427-6527
Cathie.Maeyaert@THECB.state.tx.us

Utah

Utah Division of Consumer Protection

Marla Winegar
Administrator
Utah Division of Consumer Protection
801-530-6601
mwinegar@utah.gov

Vermont

Vermont State Board of Education

Cassandra Ryan
Postsecondary Approval Coordinator
Vermont Agency of Education
802-479-8545
cassandra.ryan@vermont.gov

Virginia

State Council for Higher Education in Virginia

Sylvia Rosa-Casanova
Director, Private and Out of State Postsecondary Education
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV)
101 N.14th street Richmond VA 23219
804-225-3399
SylviaRosaCasanova@schev.edu

Washington

Brandman University is authorized by the Washington Student Achievement Council and meets the requirements and minimum educational standards established for degree-granting institutions under the Degree-Granting Institutions Act. This authorization is subject to periodic review and authorizes Brandman University to offer specific degree programs. The Council may be contacted for a list of currently authorized programs. Authorization by the Council does not carry with it an endorsement by the Council of the institution or its programs. Any person desiring information about the requirements of the act or the applicability of those requirements to the institution may contact the Council at P.O. Box 43430, Olympia, WA 98504-3430 or by email at degreeauthorization@wsac.wa.gov.

Washington Student Achievement Council

Tivoli Sharp
Program Administrator/Degree Authorization
Washington Student Achievement Council
360-753-7869
tivolis@wsac.wa.gov

West Virginia

West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission

Keri Ferro
Director of Statewide Academic Initiatives
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
304-558-0261
keri.ferro@wvhepc.edu

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Educational Approval Board

David C. Dies
Executive Secretary
Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
608-267-7733
david.dies@eab.wisconsin.gov

Wyoming

Wyoming Department of Education

Elaine Marces
Private School Program Manager
Wyoming Department of Education
307-777-6210
elaine.marces@wyo.gov